Get the app

knest.ai • Property intelligence for home buyers

Conveyancing Fees in Australia: What a Conveyancer Costs

Disbursements, the searches and registrations paid on your behalf (NSW Government), are published and often set by regulation. The professional fee for the work isn’t published by any government or regulator.

By Daniel Ryan · · Updated · 20 min read

The unpublished part of the bill

No regulator publishes a standard conveyancer’s fee

A quote has two parts: the firm’s own professional fee, and third-party disbursements that are often officially priced

Costs-disclosure rules vary by state and by profession, so ask for an itemised written quote before you engage anyone

Western Australia abolished its maximum fee scale for settlement agents in 2016 and now requires written disclosure instead

Sources: NSW Government; Consumer Protection WA.

If you are working out what to set aside for conveyancing, the honest starting point is that no Australian government, regulator or law society sets or publishes a standard conveyancer fee, so there is no official “Australian average” to look up. That does not leave you without a way to budget, or to compare one quote against another. Here is how.

Key takeaways
  • There is no official Australian benchmark for what a conveyancer should charge. No government, regulator or law society sets or publishes a standard professional fee or price range.
  • Compare quotes by separating the professional fee from the disbursements. The fee is set by each firm; many disbursements are officially priced.
  • Ask for the expected total in writing: what is included, what could increase it, and whether GST and disbursements are already in the figure.
  • Your costs-disclosure rights depend on your state and on whether you use a conveyancer or a solicitor. In New South Wales, the government states that where a licensed conveyancer fails to make the required costs disclosure, the client need not pay those costs and the conveyancer may not sue to recover them.
  • Published registry and certificate fees let you check parts of the bill, but they don’t tell you whether the professional fee is competitive.
A thick stack of paperwork gathered in coloured plastic clips on a timber desk, with reading glasses resting in front of it
Many of the searches and certificates in a pile like this carry a published price. The fee for working through it doesn’t.

How much should I budget for conveyancing?

A quote has two parts, and only one of them is a mystery. The professional fee is set by each firm and isn’t published anywhere, by government or by the profession. The disbursements, the searches, certificates and registrations the firm pays on your behalf, are largely official and often priced to the cent.

So budget from an itemised quote, not from an average. Ask each firm for a quote that separates the professional fee from the disbursements, says what is included, names what could push it up, and states whether GST and disbursements are already in the figure. That makes two quotes comparable even though no official price exists to measure them against.

Private firms and comparison sites do advertise ranges, but those are marketing, not a regulated benchmark, so this guide won’t hand you an “Australian average” dressed up as an official figure. Your real protection is a right, not a number, though the rules differ by state and by whether you use a conveyancer or a solicitor, as the rest of this guide sets out. As a practical step, ask for an itemised written quote before you engage anyone, even where the applicable rule allows another form or later timing.

What are you entitled to be told, and when?

You can’t look up a conveyancer’s price anywhere official, but in most states you can look up your right to be told it. That right is stronger than buyers realise.

The conveyancer rules in New South Wales and Victoria have no dollar threshold

In New South Wales, a licensed conveyancer has to disclose costs in writing and in clear plain language, before or when they’re retained, or as soon as possible afterwards if that isn’t practicable. If the amount isn’t known yet, they must give you the basis of the calculation and an estimate. They must also tell you about your right to have a costs dispute heard by NCAT (NSW Government).

If a licensed conveyancer “fails to make a disclosure relating to costs as required”, the client “need not pay the costs of the conveyancing work”. The same sentence adds that the licensee “may not bring proceedings to recover the costs” (NSW Government).

Victoria works the same way for conveyancers. Consumer Affairs Victoria (2023) is blunt about the consequence: “If you do not disclose this information before or at the time you are retained, the client is not required to pay your costs.” Note the narrower trigger there. The non-payment consequence attaches to disclosure before or at the time, while the duty itself allows for as soon as possible afterwards.

Neither state sets a dollar floor: in New South Wales and Victoria the duty applies to every conveyancing job, at every price.

The lawyer rules do have thresholds, and they differ

If you engage a lawyer rather than a licensed conveyancer, a different instrument applies in each state, and unlike the conveyancer rules it only bites above a dollar threshold.

In Victoria, a costs disclosure is required once total legal costs, excluding GST and disbursements, are likely to exceed $750. A full disclosure statement is required above $3,000 (Victorian Legal Services Board and Commissioner). Queensland sets the first threshold at double that, on the same excluding-GST basis. Disclosure is required above $1,500, and detailed disclosure above $3,000 (Legal Services Commission Queensland).

Queensland is the one place where the lawyer rule is the conveyancing rule. Conveyancing there is a legal service only solicitors and law practices may provide. Which professions may act at all changes at the border, and we’ve covered which professional may act in your state in full.

Victoria adds a requirement worth holding a quote up against. A lawyer’s estimate must cover “the total legal costs … including disbursements”. It may be given as a range only “with a clear explanation of the major costs drivers or uncertainties influencing the final amount” (Victorian Legal Services Board and Commissioner). A bare range isn’t good enough for a regulated estimate. That standard binds a Victorian lawyer’s estimate to their client, though. It doesn’t bind a website.

The Law Society of NSW makes the same point in four words. “Estimates are not firm quotes.”

Tasmania is the exception, and it goes the other way

The Conveyancing Act 2004 (Tas) contains no costs-disclosure duty at all. It mentions fees only in the context of what a conveyancer pays for a licence. So the cross-state pattern here has a real hole in it, which is exactly why none of this can be stated as an Australian rule.

Costs disclosure duties by jurisdiction and profession — separate Acts, not one national rule
Jurisdiction Disclosure threshold (not a fee) Written? When If they don’t tell you
NSW · conveyancer None Yes, plain language Before or when retained You need not pay, and they can’t sue
VIC · conveyancer None Yes Before or at the time retained You are not required to pay
WA · settlement agent Not stated Yes Before you sign the appointment Not stated; the disclosed maximum caps what you can be charged
NSW · lawyer Above $750 in total cost Yes, in writing On being retained, or as soon as practicable Not payable until assessed by a Costs Assessor
QLD · lawyer Above $1,500 in legal costs, excluding GST and disbursements Yes, or oral then confirmed Before or as soon as practicable after Not payable until a costs assessment
VIC · lawyer Above $750, excluding GST and disbursements Yes Soon after engagement Not stated on the regulator’s page
TAS · conveyancer No duty in the Act n/a n/a n/a
SA · lawyer Above $1,500, excluding GST and disbursements Yes On or before being retained Not payable until assessed
ACT · lawyer Above $1,500 in legal costs Yes, in writing Before, or as soon as practicable after, being retained Not payable until assessed
NT Verify with the territory regulator n/a n/a n/a

These are different instruments, not one rule with local variations. The conveyancer regimes and the lawyer regimes come from separate Acts and separate regulators, so read your own row rather than the column. The dollar figures are disclosure thresholds, not fees, and nothing here compares what the two professions charge. The lawyer row for New South Wales comes from The Law Society of NSW; the rest are government or regulator pages. In New South Wales and Victoria the duty also allows disclosure as soon as possible after the retainer, but in Victoria only disclosure before or at the time avoids the non-payment consequence. Western Australia is the only jurisdiction that requires the disclosure before you sign the appointment document. In the ACT, conveyancing is a solicitor’s work, so the lawyer rule under the Legal Profession Act 2006 (ACT) applies. South Australia’s lawyer threshold sits in the Legal Practitioners Act 1981 (SA). No primary source establishes the Northern Territory position.

Why doesn’t anyone publish what conveyancing costs?

We’ve set out what a conveyancer does separately; on what it costs, even the official buyer-guidance declines to answer. Moneysmart, ASIC’s money guidance service, tells you to “get help from a solicitor or conveyancer to review the contract before signing” but never says what that costs, though the same guide happily quantifies a 20% deposit. New South Wales does the same at more length, discussing fees and disbursements before concluding only that “fees will vary between solicitors and conveyancers” (NSW Government).

The professions don’t fill the gap either. No law society or industry institute publishes a costs guide for conveyancing.

So when you see a confident-looking price range with no source under it, ask where the number came from; it is rarely an official one.

Western Australia capped it once, then stopped

Western Australia is the one jurisdiction that genuinely regulated the amount. Settlement agents worked to a statutory scale of maximum fees, until Consumer Protection WA removed it: from 3 February 2016 an agent must instead give the client “a written costs disclosure setting out the maximum amount they will be charging for their services”, before the client signs the Form 1 appointment to act (Consumer Protection WA, 2016). Off went the ceiling, in came the disclosure.

And the disclosure has teeth: an agent generally can’t charge more than the number they gave you, and the exceptions are narrow — an unforeseen, significant change in scope, told to you in writing, agreed, and reasonable given the change (Consumer Protection WA, 2016).

Western Australia also draws the line between the two parts of your bill more sharply than any other source, because it has to. The disclosed maximum must cover everything the agent charges for its own service, including office disbursements, but must exclude the statutory costs it pays on your behalf, such as Landgate title search fees, bank fees and transfer duty (Consumer Protection WA, 2024). In one state, then, the split between the professional fee and the disbursements isn’t just a way to explain a bill; it’s a regulatory boundary.

Disbursements: the part that is officially priced

A professional fee covers the conveyancer’s own time, and no Australian source publishes it. The rest of the bill is disbursements, the costs they pay out on your behalf and pass through, and this part behaves completely differently. One caveat before the figures: because the professional fee isn’t published, there’s no way to tell which side of the bill is bigger. What follows is the disbursement side, the small, knowable part, not a total.

What a disbursement in New South Wales actually costs

New South Wales publishes the clearest list of what you’re charged for on this side of the bill. As well as professional fees, the state says, you’ll usually be charged for a title search and for certificate fees from the water and electricity authorities. The list also runs to photocopying, registering the mortgage and registering the transfer (NSW Government).

Water and electricity certificate fees are the part with published prices, dated and repriced on a schedule. Sydney Water’s price list for the year to 30 June 2027, which covers Greater Sydney, puts its section 66 conveyancing certificate at $9.81. Its section 88G certificate is $10.79, and that one is GST-inclusive. A sewerage service diagram is $33.67 ordered directly. That’s a statutory disbursement priced to the cent with a stated twelve-month window.

New South Wales council certificates are priced the same way, by regulation rather than by the council, and one council’s figures show the shape of it. Penrith City Council states that “a 10.7(2) Planning Certificate (basic certificate) costs $71 and a 10.7(5) Planning Certificate costs $178.” In New South Wales a planning certificate has to be attached to the contract for sale.

And in New South Wales the fee isn’t the council’s to invent. Camden Council explains the mechanism: “The fees for Planning Certificates are set under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Regulation 2021 and are adjusted for inflation on 1 July each year.”

Where Victoria’s fees differ, council by council

Victoria is the instructive contrast. Three councils don’t agree on the amount for the equivalent land information certificate: Glen Eira $29.70, Port Phillip and South Gippsland $31.40. None of those pages says who sets the amount, so treat the Victorian figure as council-set and ask your conveyancer which certificate your purchase needs.

Some of it is free, which is worth knowing before you accept an itemised bill. South East Water, in Melbourne’s south-east, says of the pre-settlement financial update a conveyancer needs: “No, there is no cost to get a Financial update, and you can order as many updates as you need.”

Every Australian land registry publishes its own fees; none publishes a conveyancer’s professional fee
Jurisdiction Registry fees set by Repriced A verified fee, or the schedule to open (never a conveyancer’s fee) Registry publishes a conveyancer’s professional fee?
WA Landgate regulations published on the WA Legislation website; new regulations from 1 July 2026 1 July, ~3.90% for 2026-27 Title or document copy $33.90; standard lodgement $225.10, no GST No
ACT Access Canberra schedule, current as at 1 July 2026 1 July (schedule dated, no indexation rule published) Transfer $496.00; title search $36.00 No
NSW Real Property Regulation 2019, Conveyancing (General) Regulation 2018, Strata Schemes Development Regulation 2016 (Institution of Surveyors NSW) 1 July In the NSW LRS fee schedule (PDF behind a JavaScript site) No
QLD s 14, Queensland Future Fund (Titles Registry) Act 2021 1 July; the old schedule applies to 30 June In Titles Queensland’s Titles Registry Fees FY 2026-27 (PDF) No
SA Four Land Services SA Notices, one per title system, under four named Acts Annually, 2026-27 in force In Land Services SA’s Document Lodgement Fees 2026-27 and SAILIS Price List 2026-27 (PDFs) No
TAS Land Titles Office schedule, by lodgement date From 1 July In the Tasmanian Land Titles Office’s 2026-2027 Fee Schedule (PDF) No
VIC Transfer of Land (Fees) Regulations (Land Use Victoria) 1 July; fee unit $17.27 for 2026-27 Transfer fee rises with the price (ad valorem), set in the regulations No
NT NT Land Titles Office schedule Set fee Transfer of lot $181 No

The last column is the point of the table. Every jurisdiction publishes its own schedule, and none of them publishes a professional fee. Where a cell says the figures are in a PDF, the schedule is public but not machine-readable, so this points to it rather than restating figures it doesn’t render as text. New South Wales’ fee schedule is published only as a PDF behind a JavaScript site. Victoria’s ad valorem transfer fee varies with the price, so the table names the instrument rather than a single figure; the Northern Territory charges a flat $181 to lodge a transfer of lot. Every figure above names its own registry or authority, because these are not comparable across borders.

What a published disbursement looks like. The figures above are the published, knowable part of a bill, not its total. They are statutory disbursements in named jurisdictions, not a conveyancer’s fee, and no source publishes the professional fee that sits on top of them.

What changes the official fees and disbursements?

This is about the official side of the bill, because that is the part anyone publishes. No government page, regulator or law society names which transactions cost more in professional fees, so the drivers below are the ones the disbursement schedules and one regulator actually publish. Registry figures below come from the schedules dated in the table above. The water figures are dated where they first appear; the council pages publish no effective date, so treat those amounts as current to mid-August 2026.

What moves the registry fee

Some registries charge by value and some charge flat. Landgate calculates a Western Australian transfer lodgement fee from the higher of the consideration and the dutiable value, so a dearer house costs more to register there. Access Canberra charges $496.00 for an ACT transfer regardless of price. Same document, two models, and only one moves with what you paid.

Subdividing is priced per lot. Landgate’s Western Australian fee for lodging a deposited or strata plan is $364.00, plus a further fee for each lot, the only per-unit escalator among the state registry fees. That bites on a subdivision or a new strata plan, not on buying a unit that already exists.

What moves the certificate fee

Asking for more information costs more. At Penrith the fuller planning certificate is about two and a half times the basic one, on our arithmetic from the two figures the council publishes. What the extra buys, the NSW Planning Portal says, is advice from other authorities and further information the council holds, on top of the zoning and constraints the basic one shows. Asking for it faster costs more too: at the City of Port Phillip, in inner Melbourne, the two-business-day land information certificate is $114.70 against $31.40 for the ten-day service. Penrith prices the same urgency on its planning certificate: an extra $118 to return it in one working day.

Even the channel matters. Sydney Water’s own price list for the year to 30 June 2027 shows a sewerage service diagram at $33.67 direct and $18.75 through a broker. It notes that brokers add an agent fee on top of the print. It’s not evidence anyone is overcharging you. It’s a reason to ask which channel your conveyancer uses and what the agent fee is.

On the professional side, the nearest thing to official cost-driver guidance comes from Victoria’s legal regulator, the Victorian Legal Services Board and Commissioner. It publishes what it weighs when judging whether a lawyer’s bill was fair and reasonable. Four things: the seniority and skill of the people involved, how hard the work was, how urgent it was, and whether poor work caused delay and extra cost. It names no transaction type either.

The same regulator tells Victorian consumers something more useful than any of that. You can negotiate the billing method with a lawyer, for example by asking for a fixed fee (Victorian Legal Services Board and Commissioner).

When are conveyancing fees due?

No Australian regulator states when a conveyancing fee actually falls due. New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland and Western Australia all regulate disclosure of the amount, and Victoria’s rules even require a conveyancer to tell you how and when you’ll be invoiced. None of them states when the money is actually due. There’s no official answer to “do I pay at engagement or at settlement”, so treat what follows as inference from the trust-account rules rather than a rule about payment. In practice the timing is set by your own costs agreement or engagement letter, so that is the first thing to read.

What the trust-account rules do settle

What Australian regulators do settle is the rest of the settlement arithmetic. Consumer Affairs Victoria (2026) describes settlement as the day you pay the balance of the price, become the registered owner and take possession. Rates and other outgoings are apportioned to that day, the seller carrying them up to and including it.

In Victoria, money you hand a conveyancer before settlement isn’t theirs. Consumer Affairs Victoria treats it as trust money, meaning money entrusted to them in connection with your conveyancing work, and that includes fees you pay in advance. Paying early doesn’t transfer ownership of the money.

Victoria then sets out exactly when they may take their fee out of that account. Broadly, they must have billed you or notified you in writing, and there must be a costs agreement or your written authority. If they’ve sent you a bill, they can withdraw once seven days have passed without you objecting (Consumer Affairs Victoria, 2025). If you do object, a further clock starts: they can still withdraw if you haven’t complained to Consumer Affairs Victoria or applied to the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT) within 60 days.

Tasmania approaches it from the other end. Under the Conveyancing Act 2004 (Tas), a conveyancer must keep client money in a trust account “until it is paid as the client directs”. Once entitled to their fees, they must move it out of trust within three months. So Tasmania’s Act protects your money carefully while containing no duty to tell you the price first.

New South Wales adds a second layer on top of the trust rules. There, a licensed conveyancer’s client money is additionally backed by a NSW Fair Trading compensation fund.

What no regulator states

One thing has no official answer: what you owe your conveyancer if the sale falls through. Every source on it is a firm’s own blog. Ask before you engage.

What if you think the bill is wrong?

Deadlines for disputing a conveyancing bill are short, and in New South Wales they differ depending on whether you hired a licensed conveyancer or a solicitor.

In New South Wales, a dispute about a licensed conveyancer’s costs goes to NCAT. The tribunal is explicit about the window: “You must apply to NCAT within 60 days of the conveyancer delivering the bill or account of costs to the client.” It can order that money be paid or refunded, or that a bill not be paid at all. A dispute about a solicitor’s costs goes somewhere else entirely, to the Office of the Legal Services Commissioner, and the two professions answer to different regulators.

If you hired a solicitor in New South Wales rather than a conveyancer, the route is different again. The Law Society of NSW says that where disclosure was required and wasn’t given, you need not pay until the bill has been assessed by a Costs Assessor.

Non-disclosure is a separate and stronger argument. In New South Wales you need not pay at all if the required disclosure wasn’t made. In Victoria you aren’t required to pay if it wasn’t made before or at the time you retained them. In Queensland the costs aren’t payable until a costs assessment has been done, and the practice can’t start proceedings to recover them.

And if the number simply grew, the Law Society of NSW has an answer. A solicitor “will tell you as soon as practicable after becoming aware of any likely significant increase in any estimate previously given to you.” An estimate that quietly doubles at settlement isn’t how the rules are meant to work.

Outside New South Wales the body and the deadline differ, but the first step is the same: confirm whether you engaged a licensed conveyancer or a solicitor, because that decides which regulator or costs-assessment body handles the dispute, then take it to the one for your state.

The short version

No government or regulator publishes a standard conveyancing fee: the one state that set a price stopped, and turned to policing disclosure instead. That’s less satisfying than a number, and more useful. But the disclosure rules aren’t uniform; they differ by state and by whether you use a conveyancer or a solicitor. In New South Wales and Victoria a conveyancer’s costs must be in writing before or when you engage, or as soon as possible after. In Western Australia the figure must be in writing before you sign the appointment to act, and it also caps what you can be charged. Tasmania’s Act sets no disclosure duty at all, and the Northern Territory position isn’t established in a primary source.

Three things to do with that:

  1. Ask for an itemised statement of likely costs before the work starts, which is the state’s own advice in New South Wales.
  2. Ask whether the estimate includes disbursements or sits on top of them.
  3. Check which body licenses the person you’re hiring, because that decides which complaint door and which deadline apply. If you’re still weighing up whether you need one at all, that’s a separate question.
See it in action
The fee covers the contract. Not the site.

Your conveyancer’s fee buys a check of the contract and the title. It doesn’t tell you what the land is exposed to. A knest.ai property report surfaces the property and area risk signals around it: flood and bushfire exposure, zoning, power lines and noise.

View a sample report

Frequently asked questions

How much does a conveyancer cost in Australia?

No Australian government, regulator or law society publishes a standard conveyancer’s professional fee, range or scale. That is a finding rather than an evasion. Moneysmart tells you to pay a legal expert without saying what one costs, and New South Wales says only that fees vary between solicitors and conveyancers. Some statutory disbursements, by contrast, are published to the cent, but no source publishes the professional fee to add to them. What you can rely on is your right to be told: ask for an itemised statement of the likely costs before the work starts.

What are conveyancing disbursements?

A conveyancing disbursement is a cost your conveyancer pays out on your behalf and passes through to you, as distinct from their own professional fee. New South Wales lists a title search, certificate fees from the water and electricity authorities, photocopying, registering the mortgage and registering the transfer. The section 66 certificate identifies charges still owing on the property, which is what the selling agent and the conveyancer use to allocate them. Unlike the professional fee, some of these have published prices. Sydney Water charges $9.81 for its section 66 conveyancing certificate in the year to 30 June 2027.

When do I pay conveyancing fees?

No Australian regulator states when the fee falls due. The trust-account rules are the closest thing to an answer. In Victoria, a conveyancer who has billed you under a costs agreement or your written authority may take their fee from your trust money once seven days have passed without you objecting. That suggests billing rather than settlement drives the timing there.

What if nobody told me the price?

If a licensed conveyancer in New South Wales didn’t disclose costs as required, you need not pay and they cannot bring proceedings to recover the money. The answer depends on your state and it can be decisive. In Victoria, you aren’t required to pay if the disclosure wasn’t made before or at the time you retained them. In Queensland, a lawyer’s costs aren’t payable until a costs assessment is done.

Are conveyancing fees regulated in Australia?

No Australian jurisdiction now sets a maximum conveyancing fee. Western Australia is the only one that ever did. It abolished its statutory scale of maximum fees for settlement agents on 3 February 2016, replacing the cap with a duty to disclose the maximum charge in writing (Consumer Protection WA, 2016). That disclosure must come before the client signs the Form 1 appointment to act. Most other regimes regulate disclosure of the amount rather than the amount itself. Tasmania is the exception, with no costs-disclosure duty in its Conveyancing Act 2004; the Northern Territory position isn’t established in a primary source.

Do conveyancing fees include GST?

Whether GST applies to the professional fee, and whether a quoted figure includes it, is a question for the firm. Ask for the figure both ways. Statutory disbursements can be different, and two registries say so directly: Landgate states that all its regulated fees are not subject to GST, and Titles Queensland says statutory fees are not subject to GST. The other registries don’t state it either way, so ask rather than assume.

Sources

Daniel Ryan, Editor, Buyer Guides & Property, knest.ai

General information only. This article is general information for Australian home buyers. It isn’t personal legal, financial, credit or tax advice. The figures here are published disbursement and registration fees, not a quote for anyone’s work and not advice on what you should pay: professional fees are set by each firm and change, and official fees change on their own schedule, usually on 1 July. Licensing, disclosure and complaint rules differ by state. Check your own situation with a licensed conveyancer or solicitor in the relevant state. knest.ai is an AI property-intelligence platform that supports buyer judgment. It isn’t a conveyancer, a solicitor or a legal service, and it doesn’t replace one.